The Word of God is The Word of God

I hope you have an appreciation for the Scripture. I hope you have an appreciation for it, not as a fetish, but because it is the greatest treasure apart from God Himself that we have. It is His very Word, His very self-revelation. When people ask me why it is that I systematically teach through book after book, why it is that I pay so much attention to detail and to every verse and every phrase, and touch all the words; it’s because I understand them to be the words of God revealed to us from Him. I would not second guess the necessity of those words being then presented, taught, and understood by all of us.

We’re committed here at Rivers of Joy Baptist Church to a biblical ministry, to an expository preaching method because we believe this to be the Word of the living God. God has revealed Himself in His book. When you read the words of your Bible, you’re reading the words out of the mouth of God. That is a tremendous reality. That gives confidence to everything we do. It also binds us to obedience and submission to everything the Scripture teaches. Let’s talk a little bit about what it means that all Scripture or every scripture is inspired by God. Just what is inherent in that thought? Let me see if I can’t take you to a couple of scriptures to maybe enrich that, and then launch into some other things that are on my heart to share with you.