Reproof by the Lord

HE RECEIVED A REBUKE FOR HIS OWN TRANSGRESSION

Second Peter 2:16

  1. God gives reproof to His Own

  • 2 Samuel 7:14 I will be a father to him and he will be a son to Me; when he commits iniquity, I will correct him with the rod of men and the strokes of the sons of men
  • Job 5:17 “Behold, how happy is the man whom God reproves,So do not despise the discipline of the Almighty.
  • Psalm 94:12 Blessed is the man whom You chasten, O Lord, And whom You teach out of Your law;
  • Psalm 119:67 Before I was afflicted I went astray,But now I keep Your word.
  • Psalm 119:71 It is good for me that I was afflicted, That I may learn Your statutes.
  • Psalm 119:75 I know, O Lord, that Your judgments are righteous,And that in faithfulness You have afflicted me.
  • Hebrews 12:6 For those whom the Lord loves He disciplines,And He scourges every son whom He receives.”
  • Hebrews 12:7 It is for discipline that you endure; God deals with you as with sons; for what son is there whom his father does not discipline?
  1. God gives to the wicked:

  • Psalm 50:21 “These things you have done and I kept silence;You thought that I was just like you;
    I will reprove you and state the case in order before your eyes.
  • Isaiah 51:20 Your sons have fainted, They lie helpless at the head of every street, Like an antelope in a net, Full of the wrath of the Lord, The rebuke of your God.
  1. Christ sent to give

  • Isaiah 2:4 And He will judge between the nation And will render decisions for many peoples;
    And they will hammer their swords into plowshares and their spears into pruning hooks.
    Nation will not lift up sword against nation, And never again will they learn war.
  • Isaiah 11:3 And He will delight in the fear of the Lord, And He will not judge by what His eyes see,
    Nor make a decision by what His ears hear;
  1. The Holy Spirit gives

  • John 16:7 But I tell you the truth, it is to your advantage that I go away; for if I do not go away, the Helper will not come to you; but if I go, I will send Him to you.
  • John 16:8 And He, when He comes, will convict the world concerning sin and righteousness and judgment;

Reproof on Account

  1. Impenitence

  • Matthew 11:20 Then He began to denounce the cities in which most of His]miracles were done, because they did not repent. 21 “Woe to you, Chorazin! Woe to you, Bethsaida! For if the miracles had occurred in Tyre and Sidon which occurred in you, they would have repented long ago in sackcloth and ashes. 22 Nevertheless I say to you, it will be more tolerable for Tyre and Sidon in the day of judgment than for you. 23 And you, Capernaum, will not be exalted to heaven, will you? You will descend to Hades; for if the miracles had occurred in Sodom which occurred in you, it would have remained to this day. 24 Nevertheless I say to you that it will be more tolerable for the land of Sodom in the day of judgment, than for you.”
  1. Not understanding

  • Matthew 16:9 Do you not yet understand or remember the five loaves of the five thousand, and how many baskets full you picked up?
  • Matthew 16:11 11 How is it that you do not understand that I did not speak to you concerning bread? But beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and Sadducees.”
  • Mark 7:18 And He *said to them, “Are you so lacking in understanding also? Do you not understand that whatever goes into the man from outside cannot defile him,
  • Luke 24:25 25 And He said to them, “O foolish men and slow of heart to believe in all that the prophets have spoken!
  • John 8:43 43 Why do you not understand what I am saying? It is because you cannot hear My word.
  • John 13:7-8 Jesus answered and said to him, “What I do you do not realize now, but you will understand hereafter.” 8 Peter *said to Him, “Never shall You wash my feet!” Jesus answered him, “If I do not wash you, you have no part with Me.”
  1. Hardness of heart

  • Mark 8:17 And Jesus, aware of this, *said to them, “Why do you discuss the fact that you have no bread? Do you not yet see or understand? Do you have a hardened heart?
  • Mark 16:14 Afterward He appeared to the eleven themselves as they were reclining at the table; and He reproached them for their unbelief and hardness of heart, because they had not believed those who had seen Him after He had risen.
  1. Fearfulness

  • Mark 4:40 And He said to them, “Why are you afraid? Do you still have no faith?”
  • Luke 24:37-38 But they were startled and frightened and thought that they were seeing a spirit. 38 And He said to them, “Why are you troubled, and why do doubts arise in your hearts?
  1. Unbelief

  • Matthew 17:17 And Jesus answered and said, “You unbelieving and perverted generation, how long shall I be with you? How long shall I put up with you? Bring him here to Me.”
  • Matthew 17:20 And He *said to them, “Because of the littleness of your faith; for truly I say to you, if you have faith the size of a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible to you.
  • Mark 16:14 Afterward He appeared to the eleven themselves as they were reclining at the table; and He reproached them for their unbelief and hardness of heart, because they had not believed those who had seen Him after He had risen.
  1. Vain Boasting

  • Luke 22:34 And He said, “I say to you, Peter, the rooster will not crow today until you have denied three times that you know Me
  1. Hypocrisy

  • Matthew 15:7 You hypocrites, rightly did Isaiah prophesy of you:
  • Matthew 23:13 “But woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites, because you shut off the kingdom of heaven from people; for you do not enter in yourselves, nor do you allow those who are entering to go in.
  1. Criticing Christ

  • Luke 23:40 But the other answered, and rebuking him said, “Do you not even fear God, since you are under the same sentence of condemnation?

Unruly conduct

  • 1 Thessalonians 5:14 We urge you, brethren, admonish the unruly, encourage the fainthearted, help the weak, be patient with everyone.
  1. Oppressing out brethren

  • Nehemiah 5:7 I consulted with myself and contended with the nobles and the rulers and said to them, “You are exacting usury, each from his brother!” Therefore, I held a great assembly against them.
  1. Sinful practices

  • Matthew 21:13 And He *said to them, “It is written, ‘My house shall be called a house of prayer’; but you are making it a robbers’den.”
  • Luke 3:19 But when Herod the tetrarch was reprimanded by him because of Herodias, his brother’s wife, and because of all the wicked things which Herod had done,
  • John 2:16 and to those who were selling the doves He said, “Take these things away; stop making My Father’s house a place of business.”

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment