The Study of the Message of Jesus Christ

STUDY OF LUKE 6:26 T0 36 Love Your Enemies

image_thumb.png

As we continue our study in Luke, we are fascinated by the life and work and sermons of our Lord Jesus Christ. One of my best classes in Seminary was the Life of Christ under Raymond Barber.

The following material has been provided by several resources that I use as a reference. I am not original, never has been. I study from those who have the ability to put down in words. I think when I am teaching, I say a whole lot more than is one my manuscript. Thus I believe that I use the notes as a guide and hope the Holy Spirit will guide me in what I say.

So if you find the resources that I use, that is good, that I am not trying to hide.
As I have said the people in our church has not heard the messages so I tell them.
Many of the explanation of the text comes from a series of writers: I have many books, references. I use as many as I can. Today 2015 there is the internet that gives a number of good helps. I use as many as I can. I don’t try to be original. But I do try to study hard and learn as much as I can.

I have spend many years in the study of Christ, back in 1982 at FBC we went through Matthew for over 250 sermons. My heart is still in the book of Matthew.

But just to know the life without knowing his teaching, there would be no meaning. We are saved by His teaching, and its important that we explain His teaching if we are going to enter into the Kingdom of God.

His life was the means where by we can be saved. His life can only be explained in the sense that He is God. That is why He was born of a virgin, that is why He had divine power, and that He lived a sinlessl life, and died a substitutionar death. That is why Jesus as God was able to conquer dearth and rise the third day. He was GOD.

Of course the key to understand Jesus life and work is that He is bring salvation to those who believe. The purpose of our teaching the Gospel of Luke, not the stories, or the amazing miraculous character of His life.

Many people know the stories of Jesus Christ. But we need to know more about what He said. The world is full of people who are fascinated with the man Jesus Christ.
But in the end it’s a question of believing what He said. Thus His message is the most critical message to be understood.

Can I say that salvation is the message of Jesus. Escape from judgment and hell, is the message of Jesus, eternal joy and heavenly glory comes to those who believe that Jesus Christ is God in human flesh. Its not only to believe, the devil believed that Jesus was God in flesh.

But what is necessary is to believe that God is Jesus Christ in the flesh and to believe the message that He preached and taught. Salvation comes to those who believe the message of Jesus Christ.

Now as we have proceed through the book of Luke, we have seen so many great events in the life of Jesus, and now we come to His greatest teaching, one that we must explain well so that those who hear will understand what Jesus was saying.
This is why I believe it is so important to carefully explain the statements of Jesus in this sermon. This is why we try to give you a clear understanding of the words of Jesus in this sermon. Verse by verse, phrase by phrase/

Knowing Jesus was a person, does not save anyone, believe in God does not save anyone, but one needs to believe and apply the message of Jesus Christ. What does Jesus teach, what did He mean by what He taught.
It is this message that Jesus delivered that saves.

And the message of Jesus here in Luke is the same message God gave in His Law. The prophets Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, articulated it. John the Baptist obviously referred to it. And now Jesus preaching the same message of salvation. How to enter into the Kingdom of God.

Here is what they taught: We are all sinners, therefore, we are measured against the perfect standard of God’s law and they all come short of the glory of God’s law. And thus, having violated God’s law all fall under His just and eternal condemnation, judgment. That is the message of Jesus.

Everyone in the whole world is a sinner and is headed for divine judgment which will put them into eternal hell where there is outer darkness, fire never quenched, a worm that never dies, weeping, wailing and gnashing of teeth in eternal conscious punishment.

“….the rich man also died, and was buried; And in hell he lift up his eyes, being in torments, and seeth Abraham afar off, and Lazarus in his bosom. And he cried and said, Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus, that he may dip the tip of his finger in water, and cool my tongue; for I am tormented in this flame.” Luke 16:22-24.

“Then shall he say also unto them on the left hand, Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels. . .” Matthew 25:41.
“Enter ye in at the straight gate: for wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat: Because straight is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.” Matthew 7:13-14.
“But the children of the kingdom shall be cast out into outer darkness: there shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth.” Matthew 8:12.

Leave a Reply

