References Used In My Sermons

2013-11-23-07-52-48.645.jpg

Romans 11:1-11 Commentary
has god cancelled his promise to Israel or (Macarthur)
Has god rejected his people (piper)
has god lost the battle (Ray Pritchard)
does Israel have a future (ray)
Christian and Jews (ray Stedman)
for god’s sake, let grace be grace (piper)
The rejection of the jews, as to number, is not total, as to time, it is not final (Steele and Thomas)
THE REMNANT OF ISRAEL 1-10
THE SALVATION OF GENTILES (11-12)
THE JEWS ARE STILL THE CHOSEN PEOPLE (13-15
THE METAPHOR OF THE OLIVE TREE (16-18)
THE RESTORATION OF ISRAEL (19-24)
a HYMN TO GOD’S MERCY AND WISDOM (33-36
THE CONSOLATION OF ISRAEL’S REJECTION (1-36)
==========================

image.png
cHARLES E wHISNANT, pASTOR/eLDER/tEACHER/eXPOSITOR OF THE sCRIPTURE

References: My first study came from John MacArthur back in 1983. There were ______ sermons from chapter 11. I did have a number of books in my library: Commentaries: and I have bought the Complete Biblical Library Set there are 16, and they are complete in giving a lot of helps.

Today its a whole new ball game: with the computer you can find rather easy a number of helps that are at your finger tips.

One new resource on Romans this time around is D. Lloyd-Jones and I have his sermons on Romans 11.
I have listed a number of references and books and internet website that I have used to prepare my sermons from Romans 9 thru 11.

2013-11-23 18-38-55.296

I make no apology about the way I prepare a sermon. I have worked hard over the years to learn how to study the best of my ability. As I have said over my entire ministry that I an grateful for those who know more than I know about the Word of God. I wish that I had good training in the skill of writing and English, and many other areas. I wish I had a good speech teacher, that would have helped. But what I have done is try to study from men who can help me to better prepare the sermons.

Over the years in many Baptist Churches that I have been around, when you say that John MacArthur said this, or Charles Spuregon said this, or John Calvin said this, the people in the church would say you are just bragging.

I have always been up front in telling people that what I say and have learned has been from others. I don’t know when I have come up with an completely original idea in the interpretation of a sermon.
I am amazed and in all of writers of books. (of course they have others to help them).

Charity often says to me “How is it that you can talk non stop for hours when we are traveling with out notes and you can’t do it at church when you are preaching\? Good question.

Why is it that I have a full manuscript before me with about 16 pages and I might get to the first two pages in 45 minutes. I don’t know?

Anyway here are a list of resources that I have used in the study of Romans 9 to 11.

  1.  Paul Apple and Dan Broadwaters PDF 65 pages  http://bibleoutlines.com/library/pdf/romans.pdf
  2.  John Calvin: http://www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom38.xv.i.html also have on my Kindle Fire
  3.  God’s Plan For the Jew, and For You: http://www.sermonnotebook.org/romans/Rom%2011_1-36.htm Great outline: ALan Carr
  4. Thomas L. Constable commentary on Romans PDF 196 pages http://www.soniclight.com/constable/notes/pdf/romans.pdf
  5. John MacArthur of course, as I have said since 1971 if he said it I have said it.
  6. Charles Spurgeon had some sermons
  7. Vincent’s New Testament: had for many years and now online:
  8. ttp://www.godrules.net/library/vincent/vincentrom11.htm
  9. Charles Hodges – Commentary on Romans 1864
  10.  Leon Morris – Romans 1988
  11.  The Complete Biblical Library 16 volumn set that I have had since 1983
  12.  lLOYD-jOHNES SERIES ON rOMANS
  13.  bIBLICAL iLLUSRTARTED kINDLE fIRE
  14.  rOMANS: dAVID gUZIK kINDLE fIRE
  15.  rOMANS aN INTERPRETIVE OUTLINE: sTEELE AND tHOMAS
  16.  wORD sTUDY nEW tESTAMENT – sPIROS zODHIATES, VERSE BY VERSE STRONG TOO
  17.  bROWN, cOLIN eDITOR, nEW iNTERNATIONAL dICTIONARY OF nt tHEOLOGY (hAVE COPY IN LIBRARY_)
  18.  William Barclay’s treatise on “New Testament Words”. Westminster. John Know Press
  19.  Ryrie Study Bible
  20.  B750 The Greek Text of Romans: A Text Critical Study http://www.theology.edu/romintro.htm
  21.  http://psalm45publications.com/articles/apparently-contradictory-prophecies-of-eschatological-israel-in-isaiah/ Psalms 45 Puylbications Nathan Pitchford (from monergism)
  22.  What is Meant by Israel http://www.the-highway.com/articleApr04.html William Hendriksen
  23.  http://executableoutlines.com/ro/ro_se.pdf 49 pages and good
    ===============================================================================Israel Is Not Cast Away http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Romans%2011&version=NASB

Romans 11

11 I say then, God has not rejected His people, has He? May it never be! For I too am an Israelite, a descendant of Abraham, of the tribe of Benjamin. 2 God has not rejected His people whom He foreknew. Or do you not know what the Scripture says in the passage about Elijah, how he pleads with God against Israel? 3 “Lord, they have killed Your prophets, they have torn down Your altars, and I alone am left, and they are seeking my life.” 4 But what is the divine response to him? “I have kept for Myself seven thousand men who have not bowed the knee to Baal.” 5 In the same way then, there has also come to be at the present time a remnant according to God’s gracious choice. 6 But if it is by grace, it is no longer on the basis of works, otherwise grace is no longer grace.

7 What then? What Israel is seeking, it has not obtained, but those who were chosen obtained it, and the rest were hardened; 8 just as it is written,
“God gave them a spirit of stupor,Eyes to see not and ears to hear not,Down to this very day.”
11 I say then, they did not stumble so as to fall, did they? May it never be! But by their transgression salvation has come to the Gentiles, to make them jealous. 12 Now if their transgression is riches for the world and their failure is riches for the Gentiles, how much more will their fulfillment be! 13 But I am speaking to you who are Gentiles. Inasmuch then as I am an apostle of Gentiles, I magnify my ministry, 14 if somehow I might move to jealousy my fellow countrymen and save some of them. 15 For if their rejection is the reconciliation of the world, what will their acceptance be but life from the dead? 16 If the first piece of dough is holy, the lump is also; and if the root is holy, the branches are too.

Leave a Reply

