Preachers and Politics?

Political RooseveltEvery movement in the entire history of the church that has regarded political activism as a legitimate facet of gospel ministry has allowed political ideology to eclipse the gospel. That’s true from Constantine to Cromwell to the Liberation theologians.
Also: It’s not that I oppose legislation that would eliminate certain expressions of the evil that rules men’s hearts. I’m all for it. But our calling as a church is to announce the remedy for the evil itself. Lets not get sidetracked in the electoral process. Let the dead bury the dead. That’s what I’m saying.


Note: I haven’t suggested that the church should be silent about social (or even governmental) evils; merely that we have a more vital way to remedy those evils than by lobbying for legislation.

Has Christ called us as pastors/teachers to address the issues of today? Are there issues? Just like in the day’s of Peter, Paul, and Mary there were a great deal of issues that the Christians faced that was deadly to them. How did Peter address them in I Peter 1:1.  I am not saying there  are not grave issues today in America, we are headed for God’s judgment for sure.   The world is going to wax worse and worse and it is.  What is the means whereby we as pastors are  going to stop the spread of worldliness, and sinfulness?. What has God called us to do as Christians?   I have preached on about every sin there is, well not really but a lot of them.  What some people call sinful is not and some are.    If the Bible calls something sinful I will preach it.  I have never danced around sinful issues. But then I don’t dance either.  Some call dancing sinful.  Some call going to a movie sinful.

When I was at FBC in Altoona, KS I preached on sin a lot.  When I went to exposition preaching, our assoc pastor said “Why have you stopped preaching on sin?”  From Jack Hyles to John MacArthur.  Who would you rather be Jack or John?

If I thought I could get every married couple to stay married, if I could get every boy not to have sex with a girl before marriage,  if I could get women not to have an abortion, if I could get every person not to smoke, drink, cuss and round around with the wrong crowd I would do everything in my preaching to do that.

If I thought I could persuade every one in the churches I have been in to vote the way I believed I would. I can’t get them to read their bibles let along get them to vote the right way. What doest that say about my preaching anyway?

What does 2 Chronicles 7:14 say anyway.  “If my people which are called by my name shall humble themselves and pray and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and heal their land.”

The world is going to Hell, most of them.  The devil and his crowd are going to corrupt the world.  Only a few are going to escape the damning influences of the devil.  Only God in His grace and Him alone are going to change hearts.

Many preach  a weak gospel,  and a weak God and we have a weak nation of moral people.  Jeremiah and Isaiah preached their hearts out and most still went to hell and would not listen.

Politcal goldwaterMark my word, if and when these preachers get control of the Republican party and they’re sure trying to do so, it’s going to be a terrible damn problem.  Frankly, these p;people frighten me. Politics and governing demand compromise. But these Christians believe they are acting in the name of God, so they can’t and won’t compromise. I know, Ive tried to deal with them Republican Barry Goldwater

What kind of preaching should we preach each Sunday as we stand before our people each week?   Well James Robinson said this:

I think America has been headed in the wrong direction – straight into the ditch of out-of-control debt, with government agencies enforcing rules that were never passed and had even been rejected by Congress. Much of the media and population continually mock the God of the Bible, diminishing the value of marriage, family and even innocent life itself. Blind leaders have our blind nation headed over a cliff. Thank God some representatives and preachers and priests see what is coming, as do many people, and they want to help right our ship of state.  Read the whole paper.

Do you remember the days of the Moral Majority and Jerry Falwell?.  The political power Jerry had was staggering.  He could move mountains.  50 states were involved by 50 leaders who were preachers. Trying to clean up the world.

We have trouble just trying to clean up Christians?

By Rev. Mark H. Creech, Christian Post Columnist writes in part:

Once again, I must refer to Chuck Baldwin in his recent article:

“America has had more Gospel preaching during the last 50 years than any nation in history. There are more churches, more Christian schools, more Gospel radio and television programs, more missionary endeavors, more inner-city missions and shelters, more Bible publications, and more Gospel influence in America during the last 50 years than in any country in the history of the world.

“And what has happened to America over the last 50 years? Our historic Christian culture has been turned into rank hedonism and licentiousness; legal abortion has taken the lives of over 60 million innocent unborn babies; a blatant police-state is proliferating; more babies are being born out of wedlock than at any time in history; and now we are facing the tyrannical attempt to ban and confiscate America’s premier self-defense tool: the semi-automatic rifle. And all of this happened, and is happening, while hundreds of thousands of pastors and churches across the land ‘preach the Gospel.’

“Again I say, preaching the Gospel, by itself, will not save America. Christians have to be taught how to understand; how to discern the difference between good and evil; the principles of law and justice; jurisdictional authority; and the principles of Christian resistance. As long as pastors refrain from teaching these essential and necessary truths, our nation will continue its slide into tyranny and oppression–all the Gospel preaching going forth notwithstanding.” [3]

Granted, the primary purpose of the church is to proclaim Christ. That mission undergirds all of the work of God’s people. Nevertheless, true discipleship neglects no need, it recoils at no duty. Martin Luther is reported to have summed it up, I think, in this fashion:

“If I profess, with the loudest voice and the clearest exposition, every portion of the truth of God except precisely that little point which the world and the devil are at that moment attacking, I am not confessing Christ, however boldly I may be professing Christianity. Where the battle rages the loyalty of the soldier is proved; and to be steady on all the battle-field besides is mere flight and disgrace to him if he flinches at that one point.”

If America is to be saved, we must both proclaim the Gospel and seek to bring its influence to bear on the body politic. Yes, politics and preaching do mix.    Read the rest of the post it is rather good.

Then John MacArthur who I have followed since 1973 and used his sermons as I have stated a number of times.

First, political involvement requires time and energy from a pastor that should be spent on shepherding the flock of God. Life is short—there are only so many weeks, days, and hours—and a pastor must make every effort to redeem the time (Ps. 90:12; Eph. 5:16). He’s a steward, charged by the Master for the administration of His truth, and he will give an account to the Lord of the church; and extensive political involvement is a distraction (1 Cor. 3:12-15; 4:1-5). He simply can’t effectively shepherd his people when he’s trying to be effective in politics. No one can serve two masters.

Leave a Reply

