Quotes by Sinclair Ferguson and John Owens

2 Timothy 4 2 what-it-means-to-be-a-gospel-preacher

“When I know that Christ is the one real sacrifice for my sins, that His work on my behalf has been accepted by God, that He is my heavenly Intercessor-then His blood is the antidote to the poison in the voices that echo in my conscience, condemning me for my many failures. Indeed, Christ’s shed blood chokes them into silence! Thus, knowing that Jesus Christ is my Savior delivers me from my anxious fears, and brings me joy and wonderful assurance. I am condemned no more-not even by my own conscience. Jesus is mine. Blessed assurance indeed!”
Sinclair Ferguson. In Christ Alone: Living the Gospel Centered Life (pp. 151-152)

“This principle is always to be retained in our minds in reading of the Scripture,–namely, that the revelation and doctrine of the person of Christ and his office, is the foundation whereon all other instructions of the prophets and apostles for the edification of the church are built, and whereunto they are resolved… So our Lord Jesus Christ himself at large makes it manifest, Luke xxiv. 26, 27, 45, 46. Lay aside the consideration hereof, and the Scriptures are no such thing as they pretend unto,–namely, a revelation of the glory of God in the salvation of the church…” (John Owen, Works, I:314-15).

http://www.1689federalism.com/

“And hence we deduce the general doctrine, as to what is done in baptism by men, and whatg is accomplished in it by the Son of God.

To men has been committed nothing more than the adminisrtxration of an outweard and visible sign: the reeality dwells with Chdrist along.  John Calvin

Leave a Reply

