References Used By Charles e Whisnant, Sermon on Luke 3 Jesus The Son

Expositional Preaching Thinking Biblical
THERE IS ONLY ONE KIND OF BIBICAL PREACHING AND THAT IS EXPOSITORY PREACHING:

WHAT DOES THAT MEAN? YOU READ THE TEXT, TEACH THE TEXT, STAY ON THE TEXT AND PROCLAIM THE TEXT

Exposition preaching Mark

A professes in Seminary told me the way to preach is open the Bible read and ask God to give you a message.  Being 19 years old I listen to the professor but I could not get the Holy Spirit to tell me what to preach. And after three years of training, I still did not know how what was involved in a sermon preparation.  Well I did have some knowledge of preaching they way Independent Fundamental preaching was done, I had heard it all my life.  Get up read a text and then preach what you wanted to say in the first place.  That was real good preaching.

Now some 50 years later I am still learning and working on sermon preparation.   This week I listen to John MacArthur and Steven Lawson teach in this subject of expository teaching/preaching. I am learning even more that ever, why I am doing what I do.

I have never read a blog from a preacher that gave the material he uses in preparing a sermon, from a authentic, technical point of view. So I thought I would do just that.  I have researched articles that have given details of research material for preaching a good sermon, and read books on this subject.

 

REFERENCES USED IN THIS SERMON FROM LUKE 3:21 Charles e Whisnant

  1. The body of work started with John MacArthur sermon from there I launched out into the deep.
  2. Word Study: A.T. Robertson’s Word Picture of the N.T. (which I have a set in my library)
  3. The Bible verse itself: Used http://www.studylight.org/ An excellent site for a number of helps.
  4. Historical sites study: Jordan River. Place where Jesus came from and was going: Google search greatest form of finding websites on any subject, and I took the advantage here a lot.
  5. Places and Maps, Photos was by Google Image. My #one resources here. Not only the photo but the website that goes along with the Photo. Outstanding
  6. One place that has the best commentaries to go to is this sitehttp://preceptaustin.org/luke_commentaries. He has dong an outstanding work.
  7. Strong Number of each word: Spiros Zodhiates The Complete Word Study New Testament: Use in every expositor’s sermon. Have a copy in my library.
  8. Study Bible, Greek-English Dictionary, Harmony of the Gospel, The Complete Biblical Library series. Every sermon I find my self in this set of 16 volumes since they came out one by one back in 1986.
  9. Linguistic Words: Linguistic Key to the Greek New Testament by Fritz Rienecker and Cleon Rogers. In my library.
  10. Hebrew-Greek Study Bible: Spiros Zodhiates: I have had since 1986. Outstanding reference work, use to read from when I preach.
  11. Doctrine / Theology Research: Dictionary
    1. Evangelical Dictionary of Theology: Elwell. (have this volume in my library)
    2. Dictionary of New Testament Theology: Colin Brown (have had this set (6)in my library for a long time)
    3. Theological Dictionary of the N.T. Geoffrey W. Bromiley (have in my library)
    4. Vine’s Expository Dictionary of N.T. Words. Have used this for ever. Copy in my library

     

  12. Concordance of the New Testament: Wigram Englishman’s Greek (coded to the Strong’s and every word is recorded and every word in the Greek word in the English. What is great here. One Greek word in the original Bible can be translated into a dozen different English words. And this volume will give you all of the words.
  13. Theology of the Text:
    1. Christian Theology by Millard j. Erickson (which I have in my library
    2. Monergism.com Outstanding website that I have used since 2003
    3. Systematic Theology by Louis Berkhof (have this volume in my office.

     

  14. Scripture References to the text
    1. The Treasury of Scripture Knowledge (have in library 1983 bought at Grace Community Sun Valley CA

     

  15. Lexicon and Concordance: The design of the work is to give every English word in ABC order, and under each, the Greek word or words so translated, with a list of the passages in which the English word occurs, showing by a reference figure which is the Greek word used in each particular passage.
    1. Critical Lexicon of English and Greek by Ethelbery Bullinger ( in library) And I also others that I don’t use as much

     

  16. Encyclopedia of the Bible: The Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia (Have this 6 volumes set in library)
  17. Websites: On a giving sermon: For this sermon Luke 3:21
    1. http://www.studylight.org/com/rwp/view.cgi?book=lu&chapter=003
    2. http://www.ccel.org/ccel/maclaren/luke.ii.xii.html
    3. http://www.spurgeongems.org/vols55-57/chs3178.pd
    4. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Infinitive
    5. http://www.ccel.org/bible/phillips/CP051GOSPELMAPS.htm
    6. http://www.blessitt.com/Inspiration_Witness/MilesJesusandMaryWalked/MilesJesusandMaryWalked_Page1.htm
    7. http://pbministries.org/books/gill/Sermons&Tracts/sermon_38.htm
    8. http://www.theopedia.com/Imputed_righteousness
    9. Imputed Rightesousness sites. A few that I only read about the doctrine

     

  18. COMMENARIES
    1. John MacArthur’s of course
    2. John Calvin’s (Kindle Fire) Two books
    3. The Pulpit Commentary N.T. (Kindle Fire)
    4. A History of the Jews, Paul Johnson (Kindle Fire)
    5. Expository Thoughts on Luke by J.C. Ryle (Kindle Fire
    6. The Gospel of Luke by Roy E. Gingrich (Kindle Fire)
    7. A Layman’s Commentary on the Gospel of Luke by T.O.D. Johnson (Kindle Fire)
    8. Seeing Christ and the Son of God Luke by Stephen Kaung (Kindle Fire)
Leave a Reply

