Yes I Am A Member of A Church

I AM A CHURCH MEMBER: SO WHAT?

Many church members evaluate the pastor through the lens of “what is he doing for me?” We need to ask how can we help our pastor serve others than ask what can he do for me.   Most church members have little awareness of the daily demands and reassures of a pastor. His calling is one of the most challenging a person can have.  Indeed, it is an impossible task in the pastor’s own strength.

Many church members are focused on their own preferences rather than on the church’s missions.   The self-focused church becomes a church in conflict. No church can satisfy all the preferences of all the churc members.

Question: Some say the plateaued and declining churches in North America as seen in declining evangelical influence in the culture. We are tempted to blame secular culture, national politics, or church leaders. But you believe church members should “look in the mirror.” Why?

“If outside forces and culture were the reasons behind declining and non-influential churches, we would likely have no church today. The greatest periods of growth, particularly the first-century growth, took place in adversarial cultures.

We are not hindered by external forces; we are hindered by our own lack of commitment and selflessness.”  Thom Rainer

I am a church member

  • “I will seek to be a source of unity in the church. I know there are no perfect pastors, staff, or other church members. But neither am I. I will not be a source of gossip or dissension. One of the greatest contributions I can make is to do all I can in God’s power to help keep the church in unity for the sake of the gospel.”

I am a church member:

  • “I will not let my church be about my preferences and desires.  That is self-serving. I am in this church to serve others and to serve Christ. My Savior went to a cross for me. I can deal with an inconveniences and matters that are just not my preference or style.”

I am a church member:

  • “I will pray for my pastor/teacher every day. His work is never-ending. His days are filled with constant demands for his time, with the need to prepear four sermons a week, with those who are rejoicing in births, with those who are traveling through the shadow of death, with critics, with the hurts and hopes of others, and with the need to be a husband and a father, and grandfather. My pastor cannot serve our church in his own power. I will pray for him and his wife every day.”

I am a church member:

  • I like the metaphor of membership. It’s not membership as in a civic organization or a country club.  It’s the kind of membership given to us in I Corinthians 12 “Now you are the body of Chrsit and individual members of it” 12:27.  Because I am a member of the body of Christ, I must be a functioning member, where I am an “eye” and “ear” or a “hand”. As a functioning member, I will give. I will serve. I will minister.  I will evangelize. I will study. I will see to be a blessing to others. I will remember that “if one member suffers, all the members suffer with it, if one member is honored, all the members rejoice with it.” 12:26.

I am a member:

  • “This membership is a gift. When I receive the free gift of salvation through Jesus Christ, I became a part of the body of Christ. I soon thereafter identified with a local body and became a member of the local body. And now I am humbled and honoured to serve and to love others in our church. I pray that I will never take my membership for granted, but see it as a fit and an opportunity to serve others, and to be a part of something so much greater than any one person or member.”

I am a member:

  • And I think God that I am.”
Leave a Reply

