Reading Above My Head

I have a blogroll of about 150 websites that I subscribe to daily. I get updates on every post. I use Google Reader, they post every day the current blog.   Much of the information I receive comes from these bloggers.  I would mostly never think about many of the articles they point out. Its amazing just how much I don’t know. 

Whenever I talk about reading I try to throw in a lot of disclaimers. Reading is my “thing.” It’s what comes easily to me (more easily than, say, personal evangelism). So I always want to be careful that I don’t impose my passions on everyone else. So I read a lot of books on my Kindle Fire, I read many blogs from a number of different people. I not only like to read laymen blogs but also reading of academic writing. Here I am reading well over my head.   I realize that many of us pastors have not been called to engage in the higher levels of scholarship. Certainly our congregation that I am pastoring would not have any idea of what I would be talking about if I did.  Yet I still make it a point to jump into the deep end of the pool (and I can not swim) and get in over my head most of the time. But I still like to do it.

Reading scholar stuff for sure keeps my learning and learning keeps me fresh.  Most Christian books are written for the 5th grader. But even than I didn’t fair much on that TV show. I am not a smart as a 5th grader.

But I am certainly challenged with new insights and new idea on old topic and old truth.

And another thing, reading scholarly material keeps me real humble.

So I do suggest that pastors read able their heads.

 

Leave a Reply

