Do You Hold A Bible In Your Hand?

“Well that is not the Bible?” someone will say.  They are stating   to the fact that your do not have a KJV in your hand.  Are they right?  The only Bible that is the real Bible is the KJV? 

The very concept of an eternal, omnipotent God communicating to finite, moral beings is problematic.””

For example, in what language should God reveal Himself?  Any language, after all, has inherent weaknesses. As it happened, the original languages of the biblical text were Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek, which obviously creates problems for English speakers who want to understanding the Bible’s original meaning.  And if the Bible holds the very thoughts of God, does it have any place in the vernacular of the masses? The first several centuries of Bible translation history were consumed with just this debate.

And the original manuscripts no longer survive.  In fact, in many cases the copies of the copies of the copies have perished.

To make matters even more difficult, our Western 21st century lifestyle bears little resemblance to that of the times and places of the Scriptures.  Biblical idioms, figures of speech, and words, even when translated into English, have unfamiliar meanings.

So who were these translators?  How did they respond to the questions of authority; relevance, and meanings?  What motivated them to take up quill and parchment to translate?

The early translators of the Bible had a great task before them.  The success in translation, then, and now, depends not only on a thorough understanding of two language but upon an acceptable interpretation of the source language.    A new translation means new words, and new words often challenge old, established doctrines.

Today, new translations that fail to receive wide acceptance may be labeled “heretical” or “uninformed,” but at other times in hisstory the consequences were much more severe: translators charged with heresy often faced excommunication or even death.

Not surprisingly, resistance, persecution, Bible burning, and martyrdom have bloodied the path along which the history the history of Bible translation has passed.

 

Isaiah 1:24

Therefore the Lord declares, the LORD of hosts, the Mighty One of Israel: “Ah, I will get relief from my enemies and avenge myself on my foes.

Genesis 40;24; Deuteronomy 28;63; 32:43: Psalms 132:2; Isaiah 35:4; 49:26; 59:18; 60:16; 61:2; Jeremiah 9:9; Should I not punish them for this?” declares the LORD. “Should I not avenge myself on such a nation as this?” Ezekiel 5:13; “Then my anger will cease and my wrath against them will subside, and I will be avenged. And when I have spent my wrath upon them, they will know that I the LORD have spoken in my zeal. Micah 5:15; I will take vengeance in anger and wrath upon the nations that have not obeyed me.”

1:24 Therefore, the sovereign Lord who commands armies,the powerful ruler of Israel, 65  says this:“Ah, I will seek vengeance  against my adversaries, I will take revenge against my enemies.    https://net.bible.org/#!bible/Isaiah+1:21


New International Version (©1984)
Therefore the Lord, the LORD Almighty, the Mighty One of Israel, declares: “Ah, I will get relief from my foes and avenge myself on my enemies.

New Living Translation (©2007)
Therefore, the Lord, the LORD of Heaven’s Armies, the Mighty One of Israel, says, “I will take revenge on my enemies and pay back my foes!

English Standard Version (©2001)
Therefore the Lord declares, the LORD of hosts, the Mighty One of Israel: “Ah, I will get relief from my enemies and avenge myself on my foes.

New American Standard Bible (©1995)
Therefore the Lord GOD of hosts, The Mighty One of Israel, declares, “Ah, I will be relieved of My adversaries And avenge Myself on My foes.

King James Bible (Cambridge Ed.)
Therefore saith the Lord, the LORD of hosts, the mighty One of Israel, Ah, I will ease me of mine adversaries, and avenge me of mine enemies:

GOD’S WORD® Translation (©1995)
That’s why the Lord, the LORD of Armies, the Mighty One of Israel, says, “How horrible it will be when I take revenge on my opponents! I will avenge myself against my enemies.

King James 2000 Bible (©2003)
Therefore says the Lord, the LORD of hosts, the mighty One of Israel, Ah, I will rid myself of my adversaries, and avenge myself of my enemies:

American King James Version
Therefore said the LORD, the LORD of hosts, the mighty One of Israel, Ah, I will ease me of my adversaries, and avenge me of my enemies:

American Standard Version
Therefore saith the Lord, Jehovah of hosts, the Mighty One of Israel, Ah, I will ease me of mine adversaries, and avenge me of mine enemies;

Douay-Rheims Bible
Therefore saith the Lord the God of hosts, the mighty one of Israel: Ah! I will comfort myself over my adversaries: and I will be revenged of my enemies.

Darby Bible Translation
Therefore saith the Lord, Jehovah of hosts, the Mighty One of Israel: Ah! I will ease me of mine adversaries, and avenge me of mine enemies.

English Revised Version
Therefore saith the Lord, the LORD of hosts, the Mighty One of Israel, Ah, I will ease me of mine adversaries, and avenge me of mine enemies:

Webster’s Bible Translation
Therefore saith the Lord, the LORD of hosts, the mighty One of Israel, Ah, I will ease me of my adversaries, and avenge me of my enemies:

World English Bible
Therefore the Lord, Yahweh of Armies, the Mighty One of Israel, says: “Ah, I will get relief from my adversaries, and avenge myself of my enemies;

Young’s Literal Translation
Therefore — the affirmation of the Lord — Jehovah of Hosts, the Mighty One of Israel: Ah, I am eased of Mine adversaries, And I am avenged of Mine enemies,

Now you may ask, which of these verses are right?  My answer they are all right.

I know you thought that there is only one right verse.  I have gotten over that now for some time.

What is true is this:  my doctrine over the years has not been changed by the different versions that have come out.

Charles Spurgeon preached from the KJV.   So did many of the preachers of the past.  I have notices that today when you read some of those sermons from the past, the printers of that sermon have inserted the NIV or the NASV or some other version. But the same sermon was still there.  In other words, the translation of the verse did not change the sermon.

What are our responsibility as a preacher and teacher ?  To clearly give an understanding of the Word of God so that the people who hear us can understand what God is saying to them and obey the will of God.

God used words to communicate His thoughts to mankind.  God created language for the express purpose of communicating His thoughts to us.  There are over 6000 languages.

 

Number of speakers, by language, around the world

 

How long does it take to learn another language?

Learning another language is a continuous process that requires years of study, motivation, and hard work. Instructors with the U.S. Foreign Service Institute calculated the number of weeks of training that students of varying aptitudes required to achieve high levels of speaking proficiency in a variety of languages. They concluded that some languages take longer to learn than others. Find which languages take longer to learn here » (PDF)

 

 

Shim

In the United States
Text and graphics in this section from the U.S. Census

Does the U.S. have an official language?

You might be surprised that for more than 200 years, Americans have gotten by without declaring English their official language. English-only legislation first appeared in 1981 as a constitutional English Language Amendment but the measure never came to Congressional vote. Since 1981, 22 states have adopted various forms of Official English legislation, in addition to four that had already done so. Subtracting Hawaii (which is officially bilingual with English and Hawaiian being the official languages) and Alaska (whose English-only initiative has been declared unconstitutional) leaves a total of 24 states with active Official English laws.

Most spoken languages in the U.S.

The list below shows the 20 most populous languages spoken in the U.S. based on the 2000 census. No indigenous language made the top 20 list. As of January 2007, the U.S. population was 301,029,225, so the figures will need to be adjusted upwards.

Language
Number of speakers
Percent of total
English 215,423,555 82.10%
Spanish 28,100,725 10.71%
French 1,606,790 0.61%
Mandarin 1,499,635 0.57%
German 1,382,610 0.52%
Tagalog 1,224,245 0.46%
Vietnamese 1,009,625 0.38%
Italian 1,008,370 0.38%
Korean 894,065 0.34%
Russian 706,240 0.26%
Polish 667,415 0.25%
Arabic 614,580 0.23%
Portuguese 563,830 0.21%
Japanese 478,000 0.18%
French Creole 453,365 0.17%
Greek 365,440 0.13%
Hindi 317,055 0.12%
Persian 312,080 0.11%
Urdu 262,895 0.10%
Cantonese 259,745 0.9%
U.S. Census – 2000 data

How many languages are spoken in the U.S.?

Far from being monolingual, the U.S. is a highly multilingual country. The number of languages spoken in the United States is 311. Of these, 162 are indigenous, and 149 are immigrant languages. An indigenous or autochthonous language is a language that is native to a region spoken by indigenous peoples.

According to the Census Bureau, in 14 million U.S. households people speak a language other than English. One in five people over age 5 speaks a language other than English. The large number of foreign language speakers in the United States is a consequence of recent immigration.

http://www.asdk12.org/depts/world_lang/advocacy/

God wants every nation to understand His thoughts.  And therefore we need to translated the Bible into a number of languages.

Leave a Reply

